The 199th winner of the St Leger, held on Saturday 13th September 1975 over 1 mile 6 furlongs and 132 yards of Town Moor, was Bruni, a grey colt by Sea Hawk out of Bombazine, owned by Charles St George. A field of 12 runners contested the race which was worth £52,131. (Equivalent to £499,400 in 2017)

The Youtube link below is a 1 minute 7 second clip of the 1975 race


Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
BRUNI Tony Murray H Ryan Price Charles St George 9/1
KING PELLINORE Lester Piggott M Vincent O'Brien Mr J Mulcahy
LIBRA'S RIB Willie Carson R Johnson Houghton Mrs J Rogers
CAROLUS Edward Hide H Ryan Price Mrs D Riley-Smith
CONSOL Pat Eddery Peter Walwyn A Oldrey
HOBNOB Bruce Raymond Harry Wragg R Moller
HUNZA DANCER Frankie Durr Scobie Breasley Ravi Tikkoo
MY LAST SOVEREIGN A C Rawlinson G Fletcher L Axhambre
SEA ANCHOR Joe Mercer W R Hern R Hollingsworth
STAMEN Geoff Baxter Bruce Hobbs Mrs F Bierer
WHIP IT QUICK Philip Waldron H Ryan Price G Van Der Ploeg
MISS TOSHIBA Alan Bond Dermot Weld Robert Sangster
The winner won by an impressive 10 lengths in 3 minutes 5.31 seconds, with a length and a half back to the third. In a 21 race career Bruin won 5 and was second on 6 occasions. Over Round N/A

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to