The 228th winner of the St Leger, held on Saturday 11th September 2004 over 1 mile 6 furlongs and 132 yards of Town Moor, was Rule of Law, a bay colt by Kingmambo out of Crystal Crossing, owned by Godolphin. A field of 9 runners contested the race which was worth £240,000. (Equivalent to £348,000 in 2017)


Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
RULE OF LAW Kerrin McEvoy Saeed bin Suroor Godolphin 3/1 jf
QUIFF Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute Khalid Abdullah 3/1 jf
TYCOON Darryll Holland Aidan O'Brien Mrs John Magnier 6/1
MARAAHEL Richard Hills Sir Michael Stoute Hamdan Al Maktoum 8/1
MIKADO Jimmy Fortune Aidan O'Brien Michael Tabor & Mrs John Magnier 25/1
DARSALAM Stanley Chin A Savajev Turan Stables 33/1
GO FOR GOLD Seb Sanders Aidan O'Brien Michael Tabor & Mrs John Magnier 12/1
LET THE LION ROAR T Quinn John Dunlop Neil Jones 9/2
FRANK SONATA Ryan Moore Michael Quinlan Adams/Flynn/Arnold 16/1
The winner won by a head in 3 minutes 6.29 seconds, with a length and a half back to the third. In a career spanning 9 races, Rule of Law won 4 and was second twice. Over Round 114%

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to