This site is not an official website for the track shown here and is neither approved or endorsed by the speedway team.

SP Farndon.JPG (17647 bytes)
Speedway racing first took place in the home of Chelsea Football Club, Stamford Bridge in 1928. That first meeting was held on 5th May of that year and was to prove a success for Roger Frogley.

The team operated in the Souther League between 1929 and 1931 and joined the National League in 1932.

View an early programme

SP Kilmister.JPG (22032 bytes) SP Byers.JPG (21937 bytes)
ST1930.JPG (13424 bytes) The team were League Champions in 1929 and also won the National Association Trophy in 1932. ST1930a.JPG (17164 bytes)
SP Dallison.JPG (24606 bytes) It was late in the day that greyhound racing was staged at the circuit, the first meting being held on 31st July 1937. Meetings continued for 31 years until the curtain came down on 1st August 1968. SP D Case.JPG (24416 bytes)
ST1930b.JPG (22710 bytes) The track length has fluctuated between 440 and 444 yards throughout its brief history. ST1930c.JPG (22943 bytes)
SP Key.JPG (26705 bytes) This section gives a comprehensive picture of the badges produced for the team throughout the ages, but only provides the briefest of glimpses of its history. For those wishing to read more widely we recommend a visit to

http://astore.amazon.co.uk/wwwgreyhoundd-21   especially

Speedway in London (Paperback)

by Norman Jacobs  ISBN-10: 0752422219

SP Milne.JPG (23608 bytes)
ST1930d.JPG (22924 bytes) The team were originally known as the Pensioners and then became the Brigands in 1930. ST1930e.JPG (19707 bytes)

More detailed information is available from "Homes of British Speedway' by Robert Bamford & John Jarvis

A further great source of information is provided on John Skinner's excellent website on Defunct Speedway tracks, with a link given below.

For all Speedway enthusiasts, John Somerville’s website should always be your first port of call:-https://www.skidmarks1928.com/v/photos/john-somerville-collection
or email johnwslusar@gmail.com for inclusion of your comments and photos of speedway on this website.

1928 1929 1930
1931 1932