Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Wednesday 18th May 1881
Final meeting: Thursday 24th May 1894
The Suffolk Yeomanry was formed in 1794 as a voluntary cavalry force, but prior to the Boer War the force was raised again under the name of the Loyal Suffolk Hussars. They organised their own race meetings under rules towards the end of the 1800s, with the first meeting taking place in 1881. The meetings were well attended and racing continued for the next 13 years. A meeting certainly took place on Wednesday 18th May 1881 when the South Yeomanry Challenge Cup was won by Wild Georgie, ridden by Sir Claude Champion De Crespigny. In his book ‘Forty years of a Sportsman’s Life’ he wrote about his victory but claimed it was the second successive time he had won the Cup and therefore was allowed to keep it. If this is so then maybe the first Suffolk Yeomanry meeting was held in 1880?! The next year the meeting took place on Saturday 13th May 1882 on Rushbrooke Park, while 3 years later the meeting had moved to Ickworth Park when staged on Friday 29th May 1885. The principal race at the meeting was the Loyal Suffolk Hussars Officers’ Challenge Cup which went to Colonel Blake’s St George. Racing continued annually for the next 7 years until a final meeting on Thursday 24th May 1894.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 1 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons Loyal Suffolk Hussars, Colonel Blake & Captain Rodwell (Stewards)
Principal Races South Yeomanry Challenge Cup

Friday 29th May 1885
Loyal Suffolk Hussars Officers’ Challenge Cup over 2 miles and 8 flights
1. St George, aged horse owned by Colonel Blake
2. Bertram, aged horse owned by Lieut. Coope
3. Lady Carr, aged mare owned by Major Greene
4. Mild Charley, aged horse owned by Lieut. J W Laruach
Betting: Evens Bartram, 3/1 Mild Charley, 6/1 St George, 8/1 Lady Carr

The final meeting took place on Thursday 24th May 1894.

Course today Initially on Rushbrooke Park and then at Ickworth Park.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to