Thoroughbred Surplice Stakes

The Thoroughbred Surplice Stakes, initially known as the Surplice Stakes, was first staged in 1970 over a mile and 2 furlongs for 3-year-old horses. The race was named after Surplice who won the Ham Stakes at Goodwood in 1847 as a 2-year-old, before landing the Epsom Derby and St Leger Stakes (SR 2044) the next year. However, between those 2 Classic successes he contested the Gratwicke Stakes and Racing Stakes at the Goodwood Summer meeting, suffering defeat in both. In 1849 he was made the 6/4 favourite for the Chesterfield Cup, but could only finish sixth. In 1993 the Surplice Stakes, now over a mile, became a sponsored race, in the first instance by Vodafone, but in 1998 it was awarded Listed status and became the Thoroughbred Stakes. A further promotion to Group 3 level took pace in 2012. The race is traditionally staged on the penultimate day of the Festival.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Surplice Stakes was on Friday 31st July 1970 when Lady Beaverbrook’s Biskrah defeated Hardbake and Bucklebury.

Favourites have a 29% success rate. A £10 level stakes bet on each favourite provided a £162 Loss
Surplice Stakes Graduation 1 mile (1 mile 2 furlongs)
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1970 BISKRAH Edward Hide Sir Gordon Richards 3-8st 8lbs Lady Beaverbrook 7/2
1971 ROYAL PARK Geoff Lewis Brice Hobbs 3-8st 8lbs Mrs B H Fyfe-Jamieson Evens
1972 RED POWER Lester Piggott J E Sutcliffe 3-9st 0lbs Mr R Chinn 11/8 fav
1973 KNIGHT TEMPLAR Tony Murray H Ryan Price 3-8st 9lbs Mrs D Riley-Smith 8/1
1974 PETER PROMPT Lester Piggott Henry Cecil 3-8st 9lbs Mrs J Hanes 6/4 jt fav
1975 RANKSBOROUGH Philip Waldron Candy 3-8st 9lbs Mr L Holliday 5/2
1976 QUITE CANDID Brian Taylor H Ryan Price 3-8st 9lbs Mrs G Janson 13/2
1977 REFORMATORY Ron Hutchinson John Dunlop 3-9st 0lbs Lavinia Duchess of Norfolk 14/1
1978 SMACKOVER Pat Eddery Walker 3-9st 5lbs Mr G Holloway 7/2
1979 TAHITIAN KING Joe Mercer Henry Cecil 3-9st 5lbs Mr Daniel Wildenstein 4/9 fav
1980 ASTONISHED Lester Piggott John Dunlop 3-8st 11lbs Sir Robin McAlpine 9/2
1981 INDIAN KING Greville Starkey Guy Harwood 3-9st 0lbs Mr J Levy 85/40
1982 MENNEA Lester Piggott H Ryan Price 3-9st 5lbs Mr Charles St George 4/6 fav
1983 PAGE BLANCHE Joe Mercer Paul Kelleway 3-8st 11lbs Mr Daniel Wildenstein 10/1
1984 FANDANGO BEAT Steve Cauthen Barry Hills 3-9st 5lbs Mr A Shead 5/2
1985 BENTOM Greville Starkey Guy Harwood 3-9st 5lbs Mr J Vanner 13/8 jt fav
1986 BRONZE OPAL R Weaver Geoff Balding 3-9st 0lbs Mrs E Weinstein 20/1
1987 IMPERIAL FRONTIER Ray Cochrane Luca Cumani 3-9st 5lbs Sheikh Mohammed 11/10 fav
1988 LITERATI Michael Hills Barry Hills 3-9st 5lbs Mr Robert Sangster 9/2
1989 SABOTAGE Walter Swinburn Sir Michael Stoute 3-9st 5lbs Sheikh Mohammed 1/4 fav
1990 THAKIB Willie Carson John Gosden 3-9st 8lbs Hamdan Al Maktoum 9/4 jt fav
1991 FLASHFOOT Pat Eddery Ian Balding 3-9st 6lbs Mr Jeff Smith 6/4 jt fav
1992 RIVER FALLS John Reid Richard Hannon 3-8st 11lbs A F Budge Equine 3/1
1993 GABRL Willie Carson Robert Armstrong 3-8st 12lbs Hamdan Al Maktoum 10/11 fav
1994 WIJDAN Willie Carson W Hern 3-8st 9lbs Hamdan Al Maktoum 6/1
1995 TAMAYAZ Frankie Dettori Saeed Bin Suroor 3-8st 11lbs Maktoum Al Maktoum 5/2
1996 HAMMERSTEIN Pat Eddery Sir Michael Stoute 3-9st 2lbs Sheikh Mohammed 5/1
1997 CAPE CROSS Frankie Dettori John Gosden 3-8st 12lbs Sheikh Mohammed 3/1
1998 GREAT DANE Kieren Fallon Sir Henry Cecil 3-8st 12lbs Greenbay Stables Ltd 100/30
1999 SLIP STREAM Frankie Dettori Saeed Bin Suroor 3-8st 12lbs Godolphin 4/5 fav
2000 ADILABAD Pat Eddery Sir Micahel Stoute 3-8st 12lbs HH Aga Khan 100/30
2001 GOGGLES Chris Rutter Henry Candy 3-8st 12lbs Mrs J K Powell 7/1
2002 WHERE OR WHEN Mick Kinane T G Mills 3-8st 12lbs John Humphreys Turf Acc 13/8
2003 COURT MASTERPIECE Johnny Murtagh Ed Dunlop 3-8st 13lbs Maktoum Al Maktoum 5/1
2004 FONG'S THONG Jimmy Fortune Brian Meehan 3-8st 12lbs Joe Allbritton 6/4 fav
2005 FORWARD MOVE Ryan Moore Richard Hannon 3-8st 12lbs HM The Queen 14/1
2006 PRINCE OF LIGHT Joe Fanning Mark Johnston 3-9st 0lbs Claire Riordan, Kieran Coughlan 9/2
2007 DUBAIS TOUCH Royston Ffrench Mark Johnston 3-9st 4lbs Salem Suhail 16/1
2008 RIVER PROUD Richard Hughes Paul Cole 3-9st 4lbs Mrs Michael Spencer 5/2
2009 ZACINTO Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute 3-9st 0lbs Prince Khaled Abdullah 5/2 fav
2010 CRITICAL MOMENT Michael Hills Barry Hills 3-9st 0lbs Prince Khaled Abdullah 7/2
2011 NEEBRAS Frankie Dettori Mahmoud Al Zarooni 3-9st 0lbs Godolphin 4/1
2012 ARCHBISHOP Frankie Dettori Brian Meehan 3-9st 0lbs Catesby & W Clay 10/1
TRUMPET MAJOR Richard Hughes Richard Hannon John Manley 6/1
2013 MONTIRIDGE Richard Hughes Richard Hannon 3-9st 0lbs Clarke, Ambrose, Reilly et al 5/6 fav
2014 WANNABE YOURS William Buick John Gosden 3-9st 1lbs Normandie Stud 7/1
2015 MALABAR Silvestre De Sousa Mick Channon 3-8st 12lbs John & Julia Aisbitt 6/1
2016 THIKRIYAAT Paul Hanagan Sir Michael Stoute 3-9st 1lbs Hamdan Al Maktoum 9/4 fav
2017 BEAT THE BANK Ryan Moore Andrew Balding 3-9st 1lbs King Power Racing 7/4 fav
2018 REGAL REALITY Frankie Dettori Sir Michael Stoute 3-9st 1lbs Cheveley Park Stud 10/1
2019 DUKE OF HAZZARD P J McDonald Paul Cole 3-9st 1lbs Mrs Fitri Hay 3/1 fav
2020 TILSIT Ryan Moore Charlie Hills 3-9st 1lbs Prince Khaled Abdullah 10/1
2021 BAAEED Jim Crowley William Haggas 3-9st 1lbs Shadwell Estate Company 2/5 fav
2022 ROCCHIGIANI Tom Marquan P Schiergen 3-9st 3lbs Stall Domstadt 11/2