Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Monday 16th April 1838
Final meeting: Tuesday 13th April 1852
Racing first took place at Tynemouth, some 8 miles from Newcastle, on Easter Monday 16th April 1838 and regular 2 day meetings continued for the next 14 years. An application had been launched to try to ban the races, but the Duke of Northumberland gave his support and they were staged on a course laid out on Cullercoat sands. James Whyte commented unkindly in his Racing Register of 1839 that the mid-April races at Tynemouth were of an inferior quality. The final 2 day meeting was held on Easter Monday and Tuesday 12th and 13th August 1852 with the last race, the Tentholder’s Plate won by Miss Turpin owned by Mr Bell.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 1 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons Duke of Northumberland, Mr Watson, Mr Lister (Stewards)
Principal Races Tynemouth Borough Plate, Garrison Plate, Railway Plate, Tent Holders Forced Handicap

Monday 20th April to Tuesday 21st April 1840

The Tynemouth Borough Plate
1. Sweetlips owned by Mr Weatherill
2. Freckle owned by Mr Maude
3. Brenda owned by Mr Knight

The Garrison Plate
1. Antisthenes owned by Mr Watson
2. Billy Boy owned by Mr Lister
3. Uriah owned by Mr Lamb

The Railway Plate
1. Antisthenes owned by Mr Watson
2. Manfred owned by Mr Maude
3. Uriah owned by Mr Lamb

The Tent Holders Forced Handicap
1. Eliza owned by Mr Lister
2. Freckle owned by Mr Maude
3. Brenda owned by Mr Knight

The final meeting took place on Tuesday 13th April 1852.
Course today On Cullercoat sands and Tynemouth village.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com