This site is not an official website for the track shown here and is neither approved or endorsed by the stadium. I am indebted to Richard English for the scans of badges on this page.

Walthamstow 1940SEN.JPG (25654 bytes)

The first greyhound meeting took place at the Chingford Road venue, North-East London, on 15 April 1931 on a track constructed by William Chandler. His family owned the track throughout its existence. The track witnessed some of the most prestigious races on the calendar, including the Stow Marathon over 820 metres, the Grand Prix over 640 metres, and the Carling Test over 640 metres.
HG31.JPG (30727 bytes) HG32.JPG (35242 bytes) HG33.JPG (32647 bytes)

The Arc was first run at the track in 1987 and had an unbroken spell until it transferred to Swindon in 2009. It was contested over 475 metres or 519 yards, with the inaugural race being won by Funny Oyster. (A full list of previous winners is shown below)

HG34.JPG (33501 bytes) HG35.JPG (33144 bytes) HG36.JPG (33064 bytes)
This section gives a comprehensive picture of the badges produced by the track throughout the ages, but only provides the briefest of glimpses of its history. For those wishing to undertake further research we can recommend a visit to

http://astore.amazon.co.uk/wwwgreyhoundd-21 where further reading can be undertaken.

Walthamstow staff.JPG (18926 bytes) Walthamstow SEN4.JPG (18606 bytes) Walthamstow 1950RE.JPG (17399 bytes) Walthamstow GC.JPG (13662 bytes)
Walthamstow GC2.JPG (20885 bytes) Walthamstow GC3.JPG (21241 bytes) Walthamstow GC4.JPG (11532 bytes) Walthamstow GC5.JPG (27507 bytes)
Walthamstow GC6.JPG (28803 bytes) Walthamstow J.JPG (20840 bytes) Walthamstow JC.JPG (16370 bytes) Walthamstow JC2.JPG (19369 bytes)
Walthamstow SEN.JPG (21278 bytes) Walthamstow SEN2.JPG (22469 bytes) Walthamstow SEN3.JPG (22068 bytes)

If you have rare Walthamstow badges and artefacts for sale then email johnslusar@fsmail.net

ARC WINNERS (Run over 475 metres or 519 yards)
1987 Funny Oyster
1988 Foretop
1989 Kilcannon Bullet
1990 Brownies Outlook
1991 Fires of War
1992 Murlens Abbey
1993 Bonney Steven
1994 Westmead Chick
1995 Westmead Merlin
1996 Coom Cruiser
1997 Blue Murlen
1998 Ceekay
1999 El Hombre
2000 Fat Boy Slim
2001 Scotts Kelly
2002 Vancouver Jet
2003 Hopeful Moment
2004 Airtech Rapid
2005 Fire Height Dan
2006 Milldean Billy
2007 Too Risky
2008 Centaur Decree