Royal Ascot: Wolferton Stakes

The Wolferton Stakes, a Listed race open to horses of four-year-old and upwards, is run over 1 mile 1 furlong and 212 yards (2,004 metres), and was first run in 2002 when Royal Ascot was extended to five days to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of Elizabeth II. It was named after the village of Wolferton, near Sandringham House and initially called the Wolferton Rated Stakes. The village contained a famous railway station which was opened in 1862 after Queen Victoria had purchased the site of Sandringham House as a Norfolk retreat. The station contained a set of elegant reception rooms used by successive generations of the Royal family. In 2018 the race was moved to the opening Tuesday of Royal Ascot and the handicap element was removed to comply with a recommendation that no handicap should carry Listed status, meaning it became a conventional Listed Race.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Wolferton Stakes, then known as the Wolferton Rated Stakes, was staged on Friday 21st June 2002 when Ulundi, owned by Mr D Heath, defeated Arabie and Rasm by a head and two lengths.

Over the entire history of the race 16% of favourites have been successful. (29th out of 32 Royal Ascot races)

Over the entire history of the race a level stakes bet on every favourite would have resulted in a 50.6% loss. (31st out of 32 races)

Wolferton Rated Stakes Listed race 1 mile 2 furlongs
Year Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
2002 ULUNDI Richard Hughes Paul Webber Mr D Heath 10/1
2003 IN TIME'S EYE Pat Smullen Dermot Weld Moyglare Stud Farm 5/1
2004 RED FORT Philip Robinson Michael Jarvis Red Fort Partnership 6/1
2005 IMPERIAL STRIDE Richard Hills Sir Michael Stoute Saeed Suhail 25/1
2006 I'M SO LUCKY Joe Fanning Mark Johnston Mrs S J Brookhouse 16/1
2007 CHAMPIONSHIP POINT Darryll Holland Mick Channon John Livock Bloodstock 25/1
2008 SUPASEUS Steve Drowne Hughie Morrison Ben & Sir Martyn Arbib 12/1
2009 PERFECT STRIDE Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute Saeed Suhail 8/1
2010 RAINBOW PEAK Neil Callan Michael Jarvis Peter Savill 13/8 fav
2011 BEACHFIRE William Buick John Gosden Princess Haya of Jordan 12/1
2012 GATEWOOD William Buick John Gosden George Strawbridge 3/1 fav
2013 FORGOTTEN VOICE Johnny Murtagh Nicky Henderson Mrs Susan Roy 12/1
2014 CONTRIBUTER George Baker Ed Dunlop George Bolton 9/1
2015 MAHSOOB Paul Hanagan John Gosden Hamdan Al Maktoum 7/4 fav
2016 SIR ISAAC NEWTON Ryan Moore Aidan O'Brien Smith,Tabor,Magnier 7/1
2017 SNOANO David Allan Tim Easterby M J Macleod 25/1
2018 MONARCHS GLEN Frankie Dettori John Gosden Khaled Abdulla 8/1
2019 ADDEYBB Danny Tudhope William Haggas Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum 5/1
2020 MOUNTAIN ANGEL James Doyle Roger Varian Ziad A Galadari 8/1
2021 JUAN ELCANO Andrea Atzeni Kevin Ryan Sheikh Mohammed Obaid 14/1
2022 DUBAI FUTURE Danny Tudhope Saeed Bin Suroor Godolphin 20/1